54 Foods You Can Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten is a protein found in certain grains, such as wheat, rye and barley.  Although gluten is safe for most people, those with conditions like celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should avoid it to prevent adverse health effects

Here are 50 foods that are gluten free.

Whole Grains

  1. Quinoa
  2. Brown rice
  3. Wild rice
  4. Buckwheat
  5. Sorghum
  6. Tapioca
  7. Millet
  8. Amaranth
  9. Teff
  10. Arrowroot
  11. Oats

Avoid These:

  • Wheat, all varieties (whole wheat, wheat berries, graham, bulgur, farro, farina, durum, kamut, bromated flour, spelt, etc.)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale

Fruits and Vegetables

  1. Citrus fruits, including oranges and grapefruit
  2. Bananas
  3. Apples
  4. Berries
  5. Peaches
  6. Pears
  7. Cruciferous vegetables, including cauliflower and broccoli
  8. Greens, such as spinach, kale and Swiss chard
  9. Starchy vegetables, including potatoes, corn and squash
  10. Bell peppers
  11. Mushrooms
  12. Onions
  13. Carrots
  14. Radishes
  15. Green beans

Double Check These:

  • Canned fruits and vegetables: May be canned with sauces that contain gluten. Fruits and vegetables canned with water or natural juices are likely gluten-free.
  • Frozen fruits and vegetables: Sometimes contain added flavorings and sauces that contain gluten. Plain frozen varieties are typically gluten-free.
  • Dried fruits and vegetables: May include gluten-containing ingredients. Plain, unsweetened, dried fruits and vegetables tend to be gluten-free.
  • Pre-chopped fruits and vegetables: May be cross-contaminated with gluten depending on where they were prepped.

Proteins

  1. Legumes (beans, lentils, peas, peanuts)
  2. Nuts and seeds
  3. Red meat (fresh beef, pork, lamb, bison)
  4. Poultry (fresh chicken, turkey)
  5. Seafood (fresh fish, scallops, shellfish)
  6. Traditional soy foods (tofu, tempeh, edamame, etc.)

Double Check These:

  • Processed meats, such as hot dogs, pepperoni, sausage, salami and bacon
  • Meat substitutes, such as vegetarian burgers
  • Lunch meats or cold cuts
  • Ground meats
  • Proteins that have been combined with sauces or seasonings
  • Ready-to-eat proteins, such as those in microwavable TV dinners

Avoid These:

  • Any meat, poultry or fish that has been breaded
  • Proteins that are combined with wheat-based soy sauce
  • Seitan

Dairy Products

  1. Milk
  2. Butter and ghee
  3. Cheese
  4. Cream
  5. Cottage cheese
  6. Sour cream
  7. Yogurt

Double Check These:

  • Flavored milks and yogurts
  • Processed cheese products, such as cheese sauces and spreads
  • Ice cream, which is sometimes mixed with additives that contain gluten

Avoid These:

  • Malted milk drinks

Fats and Oils

  1. Butter and ghee
  2. Olives and olive oil
  3. Avocados and avocado oil
  4. Coconut oil
  5. Vegetable and seed oils, including sesame oil, canola oil and sunflower oil

Double Check These:

  • Cooking sprays
  • Oils with added flavors or spices

Beverages

  1. Water
  2. 100% fruit juice
  3. Coffee
  4. Tea
  5. Some alcoholic beverages, including wine, hard ciders and beers made from gluten-free grains, such as buckwheat or sorghum
  6. Sports drinks, soda and energy drinks
  7. Lemonade

Double Check These:

  • Any beverage with added flavorings or mix-ins, such as coffee coolers
  • Distilled liquors, such as vodka, gin and whiskey — even when labeled gluten-free, as they are known to trigger a reaction in some people
  • Pre-made smoothies

Avoid These:

  • Beers, ales and lagers made from gluten-containing grains
  • Non-distilled liquors
  • Other malt beverages, such as wine coolers

Spices, Sauces and Condiments

  1. Tamari
  2. Coconut aminos
  3. White vinegar, distilled vinegar and apple cider vinegar

Double Check These:

  • Ketchup and mustard
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Tomato sauce
  • Relish and pickles
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Salad dressing
  • Pasta sauce
  • Dry spices
  • Salsa
  • Stock and bouillon cubes
  • Marinades
  • Gravy and stuffing mixes
  • Rice vinegar

Avoid These:

  • Wheat-based soy sauce and teriyaki sauce
  • Malt vinegar

 

Source: http://www.healthline.com


Leave Me a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s