Movie Review – Boxtrolls (2014)

The-Boxtrolls-International-Trailer-2-7The Boxtrolls are mischievous creatures who have lovingly raised an orphaned human boy named Eggs in the amazing cavernous home they’ve built beneath the streets of Cheesebridge. When the town’s villain, Archibald Snatcher, comes up with a plot to get rid of the Boxtrolls, Eggs decides to venture above ground, “into the light,” where he meets and teams up with fabulously feisty Winnifred . Together, they devise a daring plan to save Eggs’ family.   Released September 26, 2014

Stars: Ben Kingsley, Jared Harris, Nick Frost,

My Review:

Well the best way to sum it up is to say it was “just ok”.  When I told my kids we were going to the movies to see Boxtrolls they didn’t seem overly excited.  This should have been my first clue.  My kids have a pretty good sense of what’s good and bad in the movie world.  I think what made it just ok was the plot, it was kind of boring.  The graphics were really cool and I can’t even imagine what it takes to make a movie like this but you’ve got to have a good plot to go with it.  The first half was pretty good, kept my interest but about half way through I started to think “I wonder if I could sleep without anyone noticing”, “how long is this movie”, etc.  I actually tuned out a few times and missed a couple scenes too.   I’d say, if it’s at the $1 theater go see it but you could easily see it on DVD.

My Rating: C+

 


Leave Me a Comment

