Day 1: New York to West Virginia

The drive started out at 7am with a car full of sleepy heads.  We all got up at 5:30 am and began packing the car and making sure we have everything.  Like everyone else I had this feeling as we were leaving that I was forgetting something.  I love driving first thing in the morning because there is usually no one on the road and you can get a lot more driving done with a lot less stress.    Driving with 3 kids in the car is in it’s own very stressful but they were being pretty good, mostly because they were too exhausted to act out.  We were only on the road for about 30 minutes when my mind started to wander, what are we going to do when we get to the first hotel?, what should we do for dinner? what will we do with the kids? OH! we can go swimming, they have a pool!  OH SHIT….I forgot my bathing suits!!!!!!  SERIOUSLY!?! out of all the things I could have for forgotten, why bathing suits? they are the hardest to replace.  Oh well, shopping it is!photo

We didn’t really have any crazy adventures on the drive but a lot of beautiful morning sky’s.  We did go through a very odd patch of fog, it was only in one area that was between two hill tops.  You could only see about 100 ft in front of you and the rest was just white.  The kids loved it and I even threw in a fake anxiety attack that I couldn’t see where I was going and I was scared, no one fell for it though.  We make a few pit stops to eat, get gas, yada yada yada.  We did stop at a few Walmarts (rolling eyes), I hate Walmart but I hate spending a lot of money more so I went into to get bathing suits and to my surprise they were all on clearance for $5 a piece. SAWEET!  SOLD!  We made a stop at Best Buy so that I could get a larger SD card for my camera and somehow we ended up walking out with a brand new video camera!  I WAS and AM sooooo excited.  I have the b1150293_10151591235258199_150264441_nest boyfriend ever.  He just simply said, I know you want it…just get it!  I did want it and I did get it.   Can’t wait to use it on this vacation.  We got back in the car and on we went.

Made it to the hotel around 3:30 just in time to get a quick swim in and get some dinner.  No one was in the pool so the kids could go nuts, jumping, screaming, whatever, GET IT OUT OF YOU SYSTEM!!! We ate dinner at Olive Garden so Matt could get his endless pasta and then headed back to the hotel to finally crash.  Overall not a bad drive.  We will have free breakfast in the morning and then we have another 6 hour drive ahead of us.  Till next time…….


Leave Me a Comment

