Movie Review: Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

SilverLinings-3Life doesn’t always go according to plan… Pat Solitano has lost everything – his house, his job, and his wife. He now finds himself living back with his mother and father after spending eight months in a state institution on a plea bargain. Pat is determined to rebuild his life, remain positive and reunite with his wife, despite the challenging circumstances of their separation. All Pat’s parents want is for him to get back on his feet – and to share their family’s obsession with the Philadelphia Eagles football team. When Pat meets Tiffany, a mysterious girl with problems of her own, things get complicated. Tiffany offers to help Pat reconnect with his wife, but only if he’ll do something very important for her in return. As their deal plays out, an unexpected bond begins to form between them, and silver linings appear in both of their lives. Released November 21, 2012

Stars: Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro

My Review:

It took me a while to watch this movie because when it was first released, only a couple of the theaters in my area had received it.  Then came the Oscars and everyone, everywhere was talking about this movie and how good it was.  The fact that both main actors were nominated for best a Best Actor and Best Actress really intrigued me.  Could it be as good as everyone was saying?  Well I finally got to watch it and I was not disappointing.  The movie was filled with a dynamic cast and a unique plot.  I am so use to seeing Bradley Cooper play the “funny guy” that it was really odd at first to watch him play a serious role but he was actually really good, very believable.  Jennifer Lawrence was funny and interesting and I fully bought into the role of the “crazy girl” that she way playing.  The story line touched on some topics that you do see from time to time in movies but I really thought the way this story came together set Silver Linings Playbook apart from the others.  I don’t think I’d be giving anything away by saying this but Bradley Cooper’s character explains that he has been diagnosed as being Bi-polar.  When you see how Robert De Niro’s character acts throughout out this film you can kind of understand why Bradley Cooper is the way he is.  I could go on and on about how much I loved this movie but I don’t want to ruin it if you haven’t seen it.  If you haven’t seen it…Go now! watch it!

My Rating: A

 


Leave Me a Comment

