Mommy and Me Diary

This idea came directly from my middle child.  One night when I climbed into bed and put my head down on my pillow, I felt something hard.  When I checked to see what it was I noticed a note that said “Dear Mommy” , she has written me a short letter and left it under my pillow.  The next day she asked me if I read it and if I wanted to write her back to her.  This sparked a great idea.

To have a record of a mother and child’s letters to each other would be priceless.  The next day I went out and bought my three kids, one journal each.  I told them that this was only to be used to write each other letters.  I explained that if they had anything they wanted to talk about or tell me, they could write it in this book and leave it under my pillow.  Once I’ve read their entry I would write them back and so on and so on.  I also explained that this would be more fun if it was done every few days instead of everyday, that way you would have something to look forward to because you would never know when you would find the journal under your pillow.

What I would like to do is try to keep writing in these books until they don’t want to anymore or they think it’s uncool or whatever..lol I will keep these stored away for as long as I can and then when the kids are adults I will bring them out and show them all the letters we wrote to each other.  I think this is a really fun way to interact with your kids.  They will not only have fun but they will be practicing their letters and sentences without even realizing it.   I will share some of the entries from time to time so I hope you’ll come back to look for those!


3 thoughts on “Mommy and Me Diary

Leave Me a Comment

