Movie Review: ParaNorman (2012)

When a small town comes under siege by zombies, who can it call? Only misunderstood local boy Norman, who is able to speak with the dead. In addition to the zombies, he’ll have to take on ghosts, witches and, worst, of all, grown-ups, to save his town from a centuries-old curse. But this young ghoul whisperer may find his paranormal activities pushed to their otherworldly limits. Release Date: August 17th, 2012

Stars: Kodi Smit-McPheeAnna Kendrick , Tucker Albrizzi, Casey Affleck, Leslie Mann, and Christopher Mintz-Plasse

My Review:

ParaNorman, a kids take on the Paranormal.  This movie was a really cute idea and well executed.  I can tell how good an animated movie is by the reaction of my children.  I’d have to say I don’t think I heard one word from them the entire time.  Their eyeballs were glued to the screen.  As a parent, I was definitely entertained but I did have a problem with the amount of bad language that was used in this movie.  That really disappointed me because I already have to sensor my children from tv shows, so when I take them to an animated film for children I expect it to be appropriate for them to watch.  The only other problem that I had with it is that this film seemed to focus a lot on obesity.  I know American is known to have a lot of obesity but I don’t think that we have to focus or encourage that in movies.  A lot of the characters in ParaNorman were heavy and I don’t mean fat, I mean obese!  I think sending positive messages to kids in movies is would be better than making fun of a characters for being fat. For example they show the “bully” of the movie writing the word “fatty” on one of the kids locker and then everyone starts to laugh.  Come on, really? I’m pretty sure you can make a movie funny and entertaining for kids without little scenes like that.   Other than those two things the movie was really good.  It has a really good story line and the animation was really incredible, so life like.  Chris Butler seems to have a nack for working on dark and scary animated films such as The Corps Bride and Coraline.  Even though he has worked on many films, ParaNorman was the first movie that he wrote and I’d have to say so far so good.  I would recommend this movie to parents and children but I if I had seen this movie before hand, I don’t know if I would have let my 6 year old see it.

My Rating: B+


One thought on “Movie Review: ParaNorman (2012)

Leave Me a Comment

