Movie Review: The Hunger Games (2012)

Sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen volunteers in her younger sister’s place to enter the games, and is forced to rely upon her sharp instincts as well as the mentorship of drunken former victor Haymitch Abernathy when she’s pitted against highly-trained Tributes who have prepared for these Games their entire lives. If she’s ever to return home to District 12, Katniss must make impossible choices in the arena that weigh survival against humanity and life against love. Release Date: March 23rd, 2012
Stars: Willow Shields, Liam Hemsworth, Elizabeth Banks, Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Wes Bentley

My Review:

This movie has been advertised on tv, radio, MySpace, Facebook, Google searches, YouTube videos and even in the newspaper….ok we get it, The Hunger Games is going to be a great movie.  All these things made me a bit worried that they were trying to make the film seem so much better than what it really was.  After watching it, I would have to say it is actually a really good movie.  A lot of people read the book and then go and see it in theaters and I actually don’t recommend that.  I read the book and then right after saw this film and I was disappointed.  Don’t get me wrong I still think this movie is really good but it’s not as good as the book.  I almost wish I had either not seen the movie or not read the book because the two are on different ends of the field for me.  I love all the crazy characters they bring to the table and the story line is really interesting.  In this film you witness hardship, love, desperation, devotion, the desire to survive and the division between the powerful and the weak.  After watching The Hunger Games, I’m really intrigued to see what happens in the next one.  The only thing I wish they has changed is that they kept is as close to the book as possible but overall I still really loved it and I will definitely be buying it on DVD.

My Rating: A


Leave Me a Comment

