Movie Review: They Grey (2012)

A group of oil-rig roughnecks are left stranded on the sub-arctic tundra after their plane experiences a complete mechanical failure and crashes into the remote Alaskan wilderness. The survivors, battling mortal injuries, biting cold and ravenous hunger, are relentlessly hunted and pursued by a vicious pack of rogue wolves.  Release Date: January 27th, 2012

Stars: Liam Neeson, Dermot Mulroney and Frank Grillo
My Review:

Over the last few years Liam Neeson has been all over the big screen.  He seems to be playing the same kind of character lately, a tough, no bullshit kind of guy that will do anything to survive.  He’s played a CIA agent, a military man, a secret agent and now a skilled hunter working on a oil rig.  All of these movies have been pretty good and he seems to be a good actor for these roles.  The Grey has a lot action and suspense, although it’s very predictable and unrealistic.   There are a few scenes where you might jump and a few more that will make you wonder who comes up with this stuff.  A lot of the scenes with the wolves seem ridiculous, I’m pretty sure the wolves would just kill these guys with no hesitation.  I really don’t think they’d  have a stare off with them in the forest.  I would have to say this isn’t one my favorite films that Liam Neeson has done but it was still pretty good and I found it entertaining.  A lot of people I know didn’t like this movie but I really love Liam Neeson so I usually like all of his films.  On this one I’d say, you’ll have to watch it to see if you like it because I really think it’s 50/50 with most people.  You’ll get some that like it and some that don’t.

My Rating: B


Leave Me a Comment

