Movie Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

Mikael Blomkvist is a financial reporter determined to restore his honor after being convicted of libel. Engaged by one of Sweden’s wealthiest industrialists, Henrik Vanger, to get to the bottom of the long-ago disappearance of his beloved niece, Harriet — murdered, Vanger believes, by a member of his large family — the journalist heads to a remote island on the frozen Swedish coast, unaware of what awaits him.

At the same time, Lisbeth Salander, an unusual but ingenious investigator with Milton Security, is hired to do a background check on Blomkvist, a job that ultimately leads to her joining Mikael in his investigation of who killed Harriet Vanger. Though Lisbeth shields herself from a world that has repeatedly betrayed her, her hacking skills and single-minded focus become invaluable. While Mikael goes face-to-face with the tight-lipped Vangers, Lisbeth plies the wired shadows. They begin to trace a chain of homicides from the past into the present, forging a fragile strand of trust even as they are pulled into the most savage currents of modern crime.  Release Date: December 20th, 2011

Stars: Daniel Craig, Rooney Mara ,Stellan Skarsgård ,Robin Wright ,Yorick van Wageningen and Christopher Plummer

My Review:

When this movie first came out I thought, I bet this is one of those movies that the critics will rave about but it won’t actually be as great as they say.  Boy was I wrong! This movie just kept getting better and better as the minutes went by.  There are some really graphic scenes in it so I’d keep that in mind if you’re planning on letting a teenager watch this.   There is a few scenes with full nudity and a couple graphic sex scenes as well.  There was so much detail that went into each of the main characters that it kept you really engaged in the movie.  I feel  like I can usually tell what’s going to happen or the direction the movie is going in but I wasn’t able to do that with this one. It made it even more enjoyable that I could just sit back and anticipate how it was all going to turn out.  With that said though, towards the very end I did ruin it for myself because I knew exactly how they were going to end the movie…bummer! It wasn’t predictable at all until the last 10 minutes.  Overall I was thoroughly entertained and surprised by how good it was and I can’t wait to buy it on DVD so I can watch it over and over.  I would definitely recommend this to anyone over the age of 18 🙂  Keep an eye out to the squeal too!

My Rating: A+


Leave Me a Comment

