Movie Review: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)

When Captain Jack Sparrow crosses paths with the enigmatic Angelica, he’s not sure if it’s love — or if she’s a ruthless con artist who’s using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the “Queen Anne’s Revenge,” the ship of the legendary pirate Blackbeard, Jack finds himself on an unexpected adventure in which he doesn’t know whom to fear more: Blackbeard or Angelica, with whom he shares a mysterious past.  Released: May 20th 2011

Stars: Johnny Depp, Penélope CruzGeoffrey Rush, Kevin McNally,  Sam Claflin and Ian McShane

My Review:

When they made At world’s End I wasn’t really thrilled with the results.  It was kind of boring so I thought, well they made a few good ones but now they should stop.  Then On Stranger Tides came out and I was reluctant to see it but I’m glad that I did.  It was actually pretty good, way better than At World’s End.  There was zombies and evil mermaids on top of all the pirates running around so it made it a bit more interesting.  Adding Penelope Cruz and Ian McShane made the movie a little better too.  I love Keira Knightley but I was getting sick of that story line.  The movie has some pretty funny one-liners and a lot of really good special effects, so it’s worth paying the money to go see.  The ending didn’t really seam like an ending so I’m sure we will see another POTC soon!!

My Rating: B+


Leave Me a Comment

