Movie Review: Soul Surfer (2011)

13 year-old Bethany Hamilton is a champion surfer who was born to be in the water. But after a fun night out night surfing and what should be a fun day in the water, she is attacked by a shark and loses her arm. Rushed to the hospital, she remains calm, and maintains her faith in God. Now she has to re-learn how to do everything with only one arm – including how to surf. It will take her friends, family, and her Christian faith to get her back into the water, but if that is where she is meant to be, she will find a way to get there. Released: April 8th 2011

Stars: AnnaSophia Robb, Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt

My Review: When this movie first came out and some of my friends went to see it they kept saying that it was just ok and that it wasn’t worth seeing. After watching it I have to disagree, I really liked it. Was it the best movie I’ve ever seen? No but it was defiantly entertaining and the scene of the attack made my heart race, it was very believable. I thought Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt’s acting was really good too. I think the fact that this movie was based on true events made it more intriguing to watch and you see how strong she is. I’m excited for it to come out on DVD so that I can watch it again.

My Rating: B


Leave Me a Comment

