Random Thoughts: Spoiled Rich Kids

Spoiled Rich Kids

Growing up, I went to a rich High School.  I was in no way shape or form, rich. I was pretty much the complete opposite of that.  Arriving at high school each day was interesting, I’d be walking because getting a car was absolutely our of the question.  Cars cost money, along with paying for gas and insurance.  It seems though a lot of the teens that I went to high school didn’t have that problem.  The parking lot was filled with BMW’s, Mercedes and Audi’s.  Keep in mind this was 12 years ago and things have only gotten worse……..

In my opinion, I think being raised in wealthy household changes who you are completely, from your attitude towards other people, to your way of thinking. I believe that a lot of parents raise their children to be ungrateful, not on purpose but these kids don’t know anything other than being rich so they look down on the average family, the hardworking family who earns every dollar!

When rich kids have everything paid for them all the time they don’t understand what it is to have responsibility.  They don’t understand working a 50 hour week so you can get all your bills paid.  Money management? what’s that? they have credit cards with no limits, that mommy and daddy pay for.   They only know that when they want something they get it. They don’t know where the money comes from they just know that when they ask for something, they receive it.

There is also a lack of respect for others that seems to come from being a rich kid. It seems that they feel because they have a lot of money they are better than the average person.  Most of the kids I’ve seen that come from a rich family run the household. The parents have no control, the kid says what they want and how they want it and they just do it! It’s like creating little monsters, and it’s scary because they are our future!

Now they have shows like “My Super Sweet 16” and “Teen Cribs” and all it does it encourage more bad behavior. They make it seem like it’s cool to be like this, to throw tantrums and yell at people, tell em what to do. It’s like role reversal and they parents can only blame themselves.

Where is the discipline?

Why is it normal  for a 15 or 16 year old teen to have diamond earrings and necklaces or owning Prada bags and $500 jeans.  It’s normal to have daddy’s credit card and buy whatever you want, whenever you want.

I now have 3 children of my own and I make it a daily mission to make sure that my children are respectful and grateful.  I’m scared for them sometimes, I wonder what life will be like in 10, 20, 30 years.  I know there are a lot of worse things that could happen to us or to our world but the reason why I started writing this is because my children, your children….all the children will someday be the adults in our world.  They will be the ones that will go into office, become president, decided what happens to this world.  So if we are raising them this way now, I can only imagine what the world will be like in the future.


Leave Me a Comment

