What to do about the Terrible Two’s & Fours

You’ve heard of the “Terrible Two’s”, but what about the “Frightful Fours”

I’ve noticed so far that having a four year old boy or girl is much worse than a two year old. I have a

son who has gone through two and four already and now I have a daughter who is four and I can defiantly say I prefer a two year old. This has been a rough year, every morning when we get up it’s a fight, she doesn’t want to get up, she wants to pick her own clothes and gives me attitude no matter what I say. Then there is crying and crying and crying, it seems like she cries over everything. I’ll talk to her so sweet and ask please, pretty please can you put your shoes on and she starts crying hysterically….”I don’t want to wear those shoes”. I’m so exhausted more mentally then anything. I remember my son doing the same thing, crying and fighting with me about everything, I was so happy when that year was over but now I’ve got one more kid that is going to be four next year so I’m not done yet…lol

It’s almost like she’s bi-polor or something cause one minute she will be fine and then the next she’s screaming, crying, throwing a tantrum.

My Advice:

I have noticed a few things I can do to solve the problems with her hisarics and crying. I’ve been able to comprimise with her or the choices we make in the morning. When I have to get up early for work I’ll wake up 15 or 20 minutes earlier than I normally would, turn their light on in their room and tell them to wake up slowly. That way she has a good long amount of time to wake up and she tends to not be so grouchy.

I also have made deals or comprimises whatever you want to call them with her about what she’s going to wear. Right now all she wants to wear is dresses or skirts but it’s cold out and I don’t want her to get sick so the night before I tell her that one day she can wear a dress and the next day pants. I also told her she can pick out her own clothes all long as it’s appropriate for the day. She likes being independent and it seems to work out for both of us. If there is a day when she wants to wear a dress but it’s too cold or I don’t have one clean or something, she’s starts crying but I distract her. I’ll start talking about after school, we can go to a park or I’ll talk to her about something I know she likes and she tends to forget all about not wearing what she wants.

I also like to use rewards and treats for good behaviour instead of punishing for bad. I still have to punish them sometimes if they are getting out of control by using the corner or time out. I went and bought little suckers and keep them in my car so when I get them from school I will ask the teacher how they were and if they listened and she didn’t have a tantrum then they get a sucker. At home if she’s being really good I’ll read an extra book or play some of her favorite songs in her room or they get to watch a movie.

It’s been a rough go the last couple years and these things don’t always work but usually they do. So I hope if you’re going through the same things as me then these tips will help. Please leave comments too about your situations and what you’ve done as well.


Leave Me a Comment

